Innovators in Health Awards

NEHI (Network for Excellence in Health Innovation) is committed to supporting and promoting health care innovation in all forms – from promising technologies that improve outcomes to promising programs and initiatives that promote better health. With its annual Innovators in Health Awards, NEHI recognizes pioneers whose efforts reflect NEHI’s own spirit of innovation and collaboration and whose work advances NEHI’s mission to improve the quality of health care for patients and their families.

NEHI’s upcoming Innovators in Health Awards ceremony will take place on February 7, 2023, at MassBioHub in Cambridge, MA. Register here.

award trophy

Innovators in Health Honorees

2023 Honorees
  • Andrew Dreyfus

    Chief Executive Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
    Henri A. Termeer Memorial Award

  • Renee Salas, MD, MS, MPH

    Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School
    Yerby Fellow, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

  • Christopher Molaro, MBA

    CEO, NeuroFlow
    Inaugural NEHI Member Innovation Award

  • Kathrin Jansen, PhD

    Senior Vice President, Head of Vaccine Research and Development, Pfizer

  • Uǧur Şahin, MD, PhD

    Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, BioNTech

  • Özlem Türeci, MD

    Co-Founder and Chief Medical Officer BioNTech

  • Jewel Mullen, MD, MPH, MPA

    Associate Dean, Health Equity, University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School

  • Toyin Ajayi, MD, MPhil

    Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Cityblock Health

  • Bay Gross

    Co-Founder and Chief Technical Officer, Cityblock Health

  • Iyah Romm

    Co-Founder and Board Member, Cityblock Health

  • Robert Coughlin

    Managing Director, Life Sciences, JLL

  • Rebekah Gee, MD, MPH, FACOG

    Chief Executive Officer of Health Care Services, LSU Health

  • John Maraganore, PhD

    Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam

  • Myechia Minter-Jordan, MD, MBA

    President and Chief Executive Officer, DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement and Catalyst Institute

  • Joan Reede, MD, MPH

    Dean for Diversity and Community Partnership, Harvard Medical School

  • Sonia Vallabh, PhD and Eric Minikel, PhD

    Associated Scientists, Prions@Broad, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

  • Red Sox Foundation

    Accepted by Bekah Salwasser, Executive Director

  • Scott Gottlieb, MD

    Commissioner of Food and Drugs, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

  • Senator Orrin Hatch

    United States Senator for Utah

  • Colleen LaBelle, MSN, RN-BC, CARN

    Director, State Office Based Addiction Treatment (OBAT); Director, Boston Medical Center’s OBAT

  • Former Congressman Henry Waxman

    Chairman, Waxman Strategies; Former United States Representative for California

  • Charlie Baker

    Governor of Massachusetts

  • Patrick Conway, MD, MSc

    Former Deputy Administrator for Innovation and Quality, The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; Incoming President and CEO, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

  • Jessie Gaeta, MD

    Chief Medical Officer, Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program

  • Edward J Benz Jr, MD

    Former President and CEO, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

  • Diane Rehm

    Host, The Diane Rehm Show

  • Janet Woodcock, MD

    Director, the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, the Food and Drug Administration

  • Henri Termeer

    Former Genzyme CEO and leader in lifesciences

  • Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc

    Acting Assistant Secretary, HHS, and health IT leader

  • Partners In Health

    Accepted by Gary Gottlieb, MD, President and CEO

  • Dr. Margaret Hamburg

    Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

  • Rebecca Onie

    Co-Founder and CEO, Health Leads

  • James Park

    Co-Founder and CEO, Fitbit

  • Susan Dentzer

    Senior Health Policy Advisor, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

  • Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, PhD

    President, Institute of Medicine

  • The Honorable Deval L. Patrick

    Governor of Massachusetts

  • Robert J. Beall, PhD President and Chief Executive Officer, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • The Honorable Regina Benjamin, MD U.S. Surgeon General
  • Christine Cassel, MD President and CEO, American Board of Internal Medicine and ABIM Foundation
  • Joseph and Kathy O’Donnell The Joey Fund
  • Eric Olson, PhD Vice President, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Donald M. Berwick, MD Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Dean Kamen Founder, DEKA Research and Development Corporation
  • The Honroable Thomas M. Menino Mayor of Boston
  • Carolyn Clancy, MD Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Patricia Gabow, MD CEO, Denver Health
  • Jennie Chin Hansen CEO, American Geriatrics Society
  • Jamie Heywood Co-Founder & Chairman, PatientsLikeMe; d’Arbeloff Founding Director, ALS Therapy Development Institute
  • Jack Wennberg, MD Peggy Y. Thomson Professor (Chair) in the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, Founder & Director Emeritus, The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice
  • Christina Economos, PhD Associate Professor, Tufts University; Principal Investigator, Shape Up Somerville
  • Atul Gawande, MD Research Director, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Staff Writer, The New Yorker
  • Eric S. Lander, PhD President and Director, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT
  • Barry Zuckerman, MD Chief of Pediatrics, Boston Medical Center; Founder, Project HEALTH, Medical-Legal Partnership for Children, Reach Out and Read
  • Jack Connors Founding Partner and Chairman, Hill Holiday; Chairman, Partners HealthCare
  • The Honorable Sal DiMasi Massachusetts House Speaker
  • Andrew Dreyfus President, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation
  • Paul Guzzi President and CEO, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce
  • Reverend Hurmon Hamilton President, Greater Boston Interfaith Organization
  • The Honorable Edward M. Kennedy United States Senator
  • Richard C. Lord President and CEO, Associated Industries of Massachusetts
  • John McDonough Executive Director, Health Care for All
  • The Honorable Richard T. Moore Massachusetts State Senator
  • The Honorable Mitt Romney Governor of Massachusetts
  • The Honorable Robert Travaglini Massachusetts Senate President
  • Nancy Turnbull President, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation
  • The Honorable Patricia Walrath Massachusetts State Representative

NEHI Member Spotlight

See our full member directory

Back to Top