Posted on October 6, 2015

Media Contact:

Sarah Carroll, NEHI




Three Nationally Recognized Health Care Leaders – Karen DeSalvo, Henri Termeer and Partners In Health – Receive This Year’s Awards

BOSTON, MA (DATE) – NEHI (Network for Excellence in Health Innovation) announced today the recipients of its 2015 Innovators in Health award. In its eighth year, this award is presented to those forward-looking leaders and thinkers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation in health, health care, health information technology and the life sciences. The honorees will be recognized at a dinner ceremony on Wednesday, October 7, 2015 in Boston, Massachusetts.

This year’s honorees are:

  • Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc, Acting Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, for leadership in using health information technology for better public health and patient care.
  • Partners In Health, accepted by Gary Gottlieb, MD, MBA, President and CEO, for their innovative approach to building health care delivery systems in places throughout the globe in the most need. 
  • Henri Termeer, Former Chairman and CEO, Genzyme Corporation, for his willingness to brave new markets and develop innovative therapies, his commitment to a multi-sector approach to solving issues in health care and his leadership in building a life sciences community in Boston.

“NEHI is proud to honor three exceptional innovators who have demonstrated that health care can be transformed at a time when it seems that health care is the unsolvable problem,” said Wendy Everett, ScD, CEO of NEHI. “Their work reflects our own mission to work together – across silos – to improve the quality and lower the costs of health care.”

“A collaborative and innovative spirit among all sectors of health care and public health is what our country needs to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans,” said Dr. Karen B. DeSalvo, acting Assistant Secretary for Health. “It is an honor to be recognized by NEHI, an organization committed to this mission.”

NEHI’s Innovators in Health awards have been presented over the past eight years to innovators from all sectors of health care. Past honorees include: former FDA Commissioner Dr. Margaret Hamburg, surgeon and author Dr. Atul Gawande, former U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Regina Benjamin, IOM President Dr. Harvey Fineberg, CMS Administrator Dr. Don Berwick, and many other innovative leaders in health care.


About NEHI

NEHI (Network for Excellence in Health Innovation) is a national health policy institute focused on enabling innovation to improve health care quality and lower health care costs. In partnership with members from all across the health care system, NEHI conducts evidence-based research and stimulates policy change to improve the quality and the value of health care. Together with this unparalleled network of committed health care leaders, NEHI brings an objective, collaborative and fresh voice to health policy. For more information, visit Follow us on Twitter at @NEHI_News and like us on Facebook at NEHINews.

View more news

NEHI Member Spotlight

See our full member directory

Back to Top