Posted on September 29, 2016

Media Contact:

Sarah Carroll, NEHI





Three Nationally Recognized Health Care Leaders – Edward Benz, Diane Rehm and Janet Woodcock – Receive This Year’s Awards

CAMBRIDGE, MA (September 29, 2016) – The Network for Excellence in Health Innovation (NEHI) – a nonprofit, non-partisan health policy institute focused on enabling innovations that improve health, boost health care quality and produce smarter spending – announced today the recipients of the organization’s 2016 Innovators in Health award.  The honorees are:

  • Edward J Benz Jr, MD, President and CEO of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute: For his extraordinary innovation in the field of cancer medicine, leadership in the Boston health care community, and commitment to collaborative care.
  • Diane Rehm, Host of The Diane Rehm Show: For her exceptional leadership in educating Americans about health, health care and health policy through her radio show and phenomenal advocacy for better end-of-life care.
  • Janet Woodcock, MD, Director, the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) at the Food and Drug Administration: For her contributions to patient safety, her commitment to the advancement and modernization of the U.S.'s drug development process, and her relentless ef-forts to supply better, safer, and more effective medications to patients.

In their ninth year, the Innovators in Health Awards are presented to those forward-looking leaders and thinkers whose work exemplifies the spirit of innovation in all aspects of health and health care. The honorees will be recognized at a dinner ceremony tonight in Boston, Massachusetts.

“NEHI is proud to honor three exceptional innovators who have taken on some of the toughest issues in health care, leading to innovations in oncology, drug access and safety, and end-of-life care,” says Susan Denzter, NEHI President and CEO. “Their work reflects our mission of working across sectors to address the critical challenges we face in health care.”

“A central focus of my work at CDER has been working to ensure that patients have access to innovative treatments that are safe and effective,” Dr. Woodcock says. “It is an honor to be recognized by NEHI, an organization committed to this mission.”

NEHI’s Innovators in Health awards have previously been presented to innovators from all sectors of health care. Past honorees include: Acting Assistant Secretary for Health, Karen DeSalvo, former FDA Commissioner Dr. Margaret Hamburg, surgeon and author Dr. Atul Gawande, former U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Regina Benjamin, IOM President Dr. Harvey Fineberg, CMS Administrator Dr. Don Berwick, and many other innovative leaders in health care.


View more news

NEHI Member Spotlight

See our full member directory

Back to Top